New Year Honours List 2022 – Recognition of Cultural Professionals

Policy News

Here is our summary of the heritage and cultural professionals that have been awarded honours in the New Year Honours List for 2022. Congratulations to all those who received recognition for their achievements and service.

The full list published by the Cabinet Office on 31 December 2021 can be found here.

Order of the British Empire, Dames Commander of the Order of the British Empire (Pg 4 ff.)

  • Diane Elizabeth LEES CBE Director General, Imperial War Museum. For services to Museums and Cultural Heritage. (Nottingham, Nottinghamshire)

Knights Bachelor, Knighthoods (Pg 7. ff.)

  • Peter Edward MURRAY CBE – Founding and Executive Director, Yorkshire Sculpture Park. For services to the Arts (Huddersfield, West Yorkshire)
  • William Anthony Bowater RUSSELL – Lately Lord Mayor of London. For services to Financial Innovation, Culture, and Wellbeing in the City of London particularly during Covid-19 (Thriplow, Cambridgeshire)

Order of the British Empire, Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (Pg 12 ff.)

  • Charles Edward ALEXANDER – Chair, Opera Rara, Chair of the Board, Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust and lately Lead Non-Executive Board Member, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport. For voluntary and charitable services to the Arts, to Culture and to Health (London, Greater London)
  • Katherine Lyndsay MAVOR – Chief Executive, English Heritage Trust [Alliance member]. For services to Heritage (Crickhowell, Powys)
  • Lisa Jane BURGER Executive Director and Joint Chief Executive, National Theatre. For services to the Arts (London, Greater London)
  • Sir Laurence Henry Philip MAGNUS Bt – Chair, Historic England and Member, Culture Recovery Board. For services to Heritage particularly during Covid-19 (Bungay, Suffolk)
  • Timothy Edward Douglas ALLAN – For services to Business, Charity and the Arts (Muckhart, Clackmannanshire)

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (Pg 26 ff.)

  • Andrew Ian LOVETT – Chair, Association of Independent Museums [Alliance member]. For services to Cultural Heritage particularly during Covid-19 (Birmingham, West Midlands)
  • Aonghus Coinn Huntly GORDON – Founding Trustee, Ruskin Mill Trust. For services to Cultural Heritage and Education (Stroud, Gloucestershire)
  • Carol LAKE – Member, Cultural Recovery Board. For services to the Arts during Covid-19 (London, Greater London)
  • Dr Julian Francis STAIR – Potter and Historian. For services to Ceramics (London, Greater London)
  • Dr Roger Ronald HIGHFIELD – Science Director, Science Museum Group. For services to Public Engagement with Science (London, Greater London)
  • Louise Natalie SMITH – Deputy Director, Arts and Libraries Team, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport. For services to the Arts during Covid-19 (London, Greater London)
  • Mark SEALY MBE – Curator and Cultural Historian. For services to Art (London, Greater London)
  • Philippa Minshall CHARLES – Director, The Garfield Weston Foundation. For services to Arts, Culture and Community Recovery (Reigate, Surrey)
  • Sajdah Perveen GHAFOOR – For services to Cultural Awareness and Integration in Cumbria (Carlisle, Cumbria)

Members of the Order of the British Empire (Pg 59 ff.)

  • Bharatkumar Jagatsingh SISODIA – For services to the Culture, to Heritage and to the community in Greater Manchester (Oldham, Greater Manchester)
  • Christopher Mark MOORE – Vice-Chair, Bletchley Park Trust and Chair, FightforSight. For charitable and voluntary services to Heritage and to Visually Impaired People (Buckingham, Buckinghamshire)
  • Daniel William Munro MARTIN – For services to Libraries and to Heritage in Scotland (Kirkintilloch, Dunbartonshire)
  • Darren BARKER – Principal Conservation Officer, Great Yarmouth Borough Council and Managing Director, Great Yarmouth Preservation Trust. For services to Heritage (Catfield, Norfolk)
  • Doreen Muriel Kinbarra AGUTTER – For services to the History of Meriden and Warwickshire (Balsall Common, West Midlands)
  • Dr Angelina Gillian OSBORNE – For services to Cultural Heritage (London, Greater London)
  • Dr Robert Brian PERKS – Lead Curator, Oral History and Director of National Life Stories, British Library. For services to Libraries, to the National Archives and to Oral History, particularly during Covid-19 (Sevenoaks, Kent)
  • Dr Robert Franklin BUD – Keeper Emeritus and Museologist, The Science Museum. For services to The Science Museum and Northern Industrial Heritage (London, Greater London)
  • Emma Louise SIMPSON – Director, Simpson Brickwork Conservation Limited. For services to Heritage Conservation (Farnham, Surrey)
  • George William PAUL – For services to British Horseracing Heritage (Ipswich, Suffolk)
  • Irna Mumtaz QURESHI – Co-Founder, Bradford Literature Festival. For services to Heritage (Bradford, West Yorkshire)
  • Jacqueline Mary O’HANLON – Director of Learning, Royal Shakespeare Company. For services to the Arts (Birmingham, West Midlands)
  • Karen Jean NAPIER – Chief Executive Officer, The Reading Agency. For services to Arts, to Culture, to Reading and to Public Libraries (London, Greater London)
  • Phillip DAWE – Team Leader, Sir Keith Park Building Restoration Project, RAF Northolt. For voluntary service to Military Aviation Heritage (London, Greater London)
  • Reynold James KIRK – For services to the North Irish Horse Regimental Association and to the Carrickfergus Community Heritage Project (Bangor, County Down)
  • Sally Elizabeth EMBREE – Head, Technical Conservation Team, Historic England. For services to Heritage (Bath, Somerset)

Medallists of the Order of the British Empire (Pg 122 ff.)

  • Alexis PAGE – Head of Safety and Risk, English Heritage [Alliance member]. For services to Heritage Safety during Covid-19 (Bristol, City of Bristol)
  • Dorothy Mary BONE – Honorary Secretary, Emsworth Maritime and Historical Trust and Honorary Minute Secretary, Emsworth Stroke Club. For voluntary services to the community in Emsworth, Hampshire (Emsworth, Hampshire)
  • Gerald Victor MILLINGTON – For services to Local History in Devon and Hertfordshire (Budleigh Salterton, Devon)
  • John BRAMHAM – Chair, The Friends of Old Christ Church, Waterloo, Merseyside. For services to Community Heritage (Blundellsands, Merseyside)
  • Joseph Thomas O’LOUGHLIN – For services to Second World War History in County Fermanagh (Belleek, County Fermanagh)
  • Kim JOHNSON – Arts Education Consultant, Derbyshire County Council Virtual School. For services to the Arts, to Education and to Young People (Wirksworth, Derbyshire)